Ray Davies w/ Mumford & Sons play "Days/This Time Tomorrow" live - OurVinyl

Ray Davies w/ Mumford & Sons play “Days/This Time Tomorrow” live

Song Of The Day

Song: Days/This Time Tomorrow
Artist: Ray Davies and Mumford & Sons
Album: See My Friends

While at the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Anniversary Party in 2009, the Kinks front-man Ray Davies had an unlikely collaboration with Metallica performing “You Really Got Me” and “All Day and All Night.” From this one off performance (as well as an encounter with Bruce Springsteen later) the idea of recording an album consisting completely of collaborative takes on the Kinks’ extensive body of work was born.

This is one of the tracks that has recently begun to circulate and it features Davies along with English folk phenoms Mumford & Sons performing a medley of “Days” and “This Time Tomorrow.” While Davies presence is still felt (although at times hard to locate) throughout the track, these tunes take on a new life with some acoustic and banjo flair added to them.

The tracklist and guests for See My Friends, which is set for release in April is below along with the video for the aforementioned collaboration:

1. Better Things (Ray Davies & Bruce Springsteen)
2. Celluloid Heroes (Ray Davies, Jon Bon Jovi & Richie Sambora)
3. Days/This Time Tomorrow (Ray Davies & Mumford & Sons)
4. Long Way From Home (Ray Davies, Lucinda Williams & The 88
5. You Really Got Me (Ray Davies & Metallica
6. Lola (Ray Davies & Paloma Faith)
7. Waterloo Sunset (Ray Davies & Jackson Browne)
8. ‘Til The End of The Day (Ray Davies, Alex Chilton & The 88)
9. Dead End Street (Ray Davies & Amy Macdonald)
10. See My Friends (Ray Davies & Spoon)
11. This Is Where I Belong (Ray Davies & Black Francis)
12. David Watts (Ray Davies & The 88)
13. Tired Of Waiting (Ray Davies & Gary Lightbody)
14. All Day And All Of The Night/Destroyer (Ray Davies & Billy Corgan)

By Jesse Zryb